Apology (a song)

a boy sits at the French doors looking out
a sandstorm rages, blackens the sky
it is quiet inside

a man walks, alone in his thoughts
silence of the web in which he feels caught
he’s not waving but drowning
can’t hear himself raging

and so he goes on, and he keeps to himself
and there’s moments he lives through
he thinks he can tell something about life
and maybe he’ll talk to you

his home is a cave or a shell where he’s safe
and held and known, and he lets in the trees
and the sandstone and the waterfall
and the beautiful song of the whipbird’s call…

a boy sits at the French doors looking out
a sandstorm rages, blackens the sky
it is quiet inside

(Simon Williams, 15.7.2012)

This entry was posted by Simon Williams.

2 thoughts on “Apology (a song)

  1. A little background to this song… I took my boys to our local library a couple of days ago and while I was there I saw a Ben Folds Five CD which I borrowed for old time’s sake. After playing the CD loudly last night when I had the house to myself I sat down at the piano and began writing my own song with its own dose of angst!
    The first verse depicts a reflective moment as a very young child when I was living in Niger on the edge of the Sahara desert, which explains the French doors and the duststorm.
    It is an apology to family and friends because I feel the moments when I am closest to life are the moments when I am by myself

  2. Pretty profound, Simon. It seems to me when we understand how close we are to life when we are by ourselves, it is only then we can work out ways to be close to others when we are with them!

Leave a Reply

